Masquerade

Today is the 97th of March 2020 and god (which god? lets say that it is Shiva today) knows how manyth day without wearing a bra! (feminists: yay!).

So today the Austrian government decided to implement the usage of masks while shopping and masks will be handed out to customers at the entrance. Perhaps I will draw a smiley on the outside of my mask.

Although we are gradually getting used to being locked up in our homes, I am finding it hard as we are being deprived of things that make us happy. And I am not talking about shopping, galavanting and jetsetting, but seeing our friends and being free. We are also being starved of habits that are associated with longevity.

Many people will be faced with loss of life purpose. As we may not be defined by our jobs, they make us feel important and give our lives more meaning. Currently we are supposed to find our life purpose in saving lives by staying at home. What if your job was the only thing that has kept you going and gave you purpose and now you don’t have it anymore? For many this might lead to despair. But, ok is it fair to let other people die because you want your life to have purpose?

Loneliness is killing me. According to an article I read in the Bloomberg a study shows that strong social relationships boost a person’s chances of staying alive by 50%. Yet another excellent feature from the designers of the Covid19 to accelerate death among the elderly. In Italy people live longer because of their strong social relationships and spirituality. It is almost like the virus was designed to decrease the number of elderly people in Italy. Loneliness will not be affecting only the boomers and the silent generation but also the young. I remember the time when we moved to Austria. I was devastated to have lost all my social contacts and it was not easy to find new ones. Although, I moved here with my family, I drowned my sorrows into watching OC California and One Tree Hill. So, at least we have Netflix and Amazon Prime now to distract us from solitude. By relating to Maggie’s dreamy date with a guy she met at a doctors’convention (grey’s anatomy season 16 episode 19), made it easier for me to stay at home last night.


Leave a comment